Day 8: I Get Knocked Down, But I Get Up Again

9 Jan

This will be a quick entry, since it’s 4am after my kickball league’s kickoff party. I did absolutely no cooking today (mmm, Capitol City Brewing Company has the most delicious pulled pork sandwiches), but I did get a run in!

Daily Achievement
My training plan called for 4 miles on Sunday, but I decided to move my run up to Saturday, since I had a feeling I might not be too functional tomorrow morning after the kickball party. I count this run as a big mental victory for me. I planned ahead of time to do just 3 miles instead of 4, since I’ve been a little behind all week, and I don’t want to overdo it. I started off with a nice pace that I felt I could maintain for a while, with my walk breaks at regular intervals. However, between 2 miles and 2.5 miles, painful blisters started to form on my feet. I should have used Body Glide on my feet, or at least worn my fancy “running socks”. However, my running socks keep mysteriously disappearing (which I’m sure has nothing to do with the sock thief that shares an apartment with me, ahem), so I was stuck w/ regular old athletic socks. Anyway, I thought maybe I should just quit since the blisters were getting more and more painful. At 2.5 miles, I started walking, with the intent to stop completely. However, after a minute, I thought to myself, “Wait a minute. I only have about .4 miles left… if I do it fast enough, I can complete that in under 4 minutes.” So I set the treadmill to an even higher speed and ran the last 4 minutes flatout, for a grand total of 3 miles. When it comes to running, my mind is my worst enemy — today was proof that I really can control my motivation. I just have to keep that in mind for the future when I next want to quit early… quitting early isn’t going to get me across the finish line of the half marathon.

Song of the Day
Chumbawamba – Tubthumping. My unofficial ’90s weekend continues, with one of the most pervasive one-hit wonders of the late ’90s. Just mention the word “tubthumping”, and this song gets stuck in my head. I felt it was particularly appropriate for the night of the 90s party, since my kickball friends certainly enjoy “pissing the night away”. I have to say, it was a really odd feeling going to a ’90s party. I love ’80s parties, but the ’90s just don’t seem that long ago to me. They were formative years, but not exactly a style highlight for me. I mostly wore tee-shirts and jeans back in the day, but Jim and I hit up a thrift store and found some gems. I had great big ugly Spice Girls-esque platform boots and a babydoll dress, and Jim had a track suit w/ a DARE teeshirt (anyone else remember DARE)? It was definitely fun times; I just hope nobody throws an ’00s party too soon.

Leave a Reply

