Day 11: Throw the Ball to the Stick

Another delayed blog… not having a working computer at home right now is a major pain in the neck! And it seems that the boyfriend has come down with the flu, so I’m not sure it’ll be fixed anytime soon. Poor guy…

Daily Achievement
Last night I finally stuck to my training plan and banged out 3 miles! One of the nicer things about running is that you start to see improvements quickly. I was able to jog for a mile nonstop before taking a walk break, and then another mile nonstop (although I did have to take breaks in the 3rd mile). Maybe the difference is jogging after work instead of in the morning — I think I’m just too groggy and/or hungry in the mornings to do well. I actually felt some endorphins after the run! I never feel the euphoria during runs (I’m always focused on when I can stop running), but I do usually feel good afterward.

Song of the Day
The Black Keys – Howlin’ for You. I grabbed the Black Keys’ album, Brothers, off of Amazon MP3 on a whim after seeing it on Entertainment Weekly’s “Top 10 Albums of 2010” list, and I’m so glad I did! They’re a blues-rock duo with some incredibly catchy songs. This one is my favorite from the album (I immediately added it to my running playlist), but the rest are worth a listen too. They remind me a bit of the White Stripes and Red Hot Chili Peppers.

Leave a comment